Tags

Some people ask me which IDEs I use to develop. Usually I used to use an IDE for each language: Eclipse for Java, PyCharm for Python, and so on… I tried to see a generic “IDE” (like a code editor with plugins) as Sublime and Atom. I always read stories that said they are good but heavy.

I tested Sublime, even liked it, but I thought that wouldn’t worth to buy or keep using. I downloaded Atom and the size already scared me: on that time was almost 130 MB or something close to that. I didn’t even install Atom when I heard a friend recommeding me Visual Studio Code. I got curious and I downloaded.

I had a surprise right away: at the time, 40 MB to download. By installing, I already liked the interface, the ease and the native support for Git. I used and enjoyed it, it did not take up much memory and I got carried away. I started to use other languages that I usually program and I was downloading plugins. I accidentally press a Hotkey I used in Eclipse and suddenly open a terminal inside the VS Code. That’s it. It was all I needed.

I must confess, I have not yet used the VS Code Debugging feature, but I’ve already used VS Code enough to recommend it to everyone. Currently I just do not use VS Code for Java, because even the VS Code Java plugin does not compare to Eclipse for Java, but you can still use Java with VS Code very well.

This is the default VS Code interface. I am using Windows 10 and by custom I use Git Bash, so I configured the VS Code terminal to be a Git Bash too (in fact, customization / customization in VS Code is VERY easy).

Like all Brazilians, I’ve had many problems with character encoding. Like some developers who sometimes use Windows and sometimes use Linux, I’ve had many problems with Line Feed (LF vs CRLF).

If you look at the blue bar at the bottom of the image, in the lower right corner, I can already know what the file encoding and what the Line Feed of the file. Also, I can change them simply by clicking on them (not iconv anymore or something like that).

VS Code is free, open source and multiplatform and is currently part of my development stack, especially with JS (including great support for Angular) and Python. I think it’s worth your while to test it and, so far, everyone I recommended that tested it, liked it a lot.

