Tags

, ,

It seems like a simple question, but you need to think hard about why we work with what we work with. As a developer, I see a lot of people saying they program because of the money. Others say they program because of the number of jobs they have and so on.

Why am I asking you this? After all, I myself entered the programming area because I did not go through electrical engineering and Computer Science was one of the few courses where I was not very life-threatening (ironically, it is one of the most stressful ones to me, which apparently is not very good for health).

The first thing to be a good professional, regardless of the area, is to love what you do. When you love what you do, you dedicate yourself, you study, you want to improve, because you love what you do.

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” (Confucius)

Another point I would like to highlight is: seek professional happiness. You may love your profession but work in a place that does not give you the satisfaction you need to perform well. Maybe, problems with the boss, problems with the company’s culture, maybe even salary. We know that there is no perfect company, but if you are not happy, have talked and not resolved, do not be afraid to seek your happiness.

The second last point is: do not be afraid to change, be afraid to stand still. It has happened that I am doing what I like, in a place I like and not evolving, and I do not mean job levels or positions in the company, I mean knowledge, professional growth, knowing more and more. Some people like routine and always doing the same thing, but the fact that you are not evolving has to bother you. You love what you do, you have to feel like learning more and more.

The last and not least point is: always do your best. Depending on the work area, the chance that you will work with someone who has worked with you is very large. Your professional image tells a lot about you. Do not be known as the person who “even worked, but …”. Rest assured that in all your work you have given your best and do not be afraid to be happy.

